Back to previous
Back to previous

Longmont Symphony Orchestra Opening Night: Shoot for the Stars


View Map

“Shoot for the Stars” Opening Night features “The Planets” by Gustav Holst, a seven-movement orchestral suite. Each movement is named after a planet with its own unique astrological character. The night begins with John Adams’ “Short Ride in a Fast Machine”, catching your attention with his unique use of minimalist tonal language and rhythmic dissonance, followed by Michael Daugherty’s new Harp Concerto, “Harp of Ages” which shows us the diversity of one of the oldest instruments while bringing in elements of 20th century pop culture—the blues and Irish rhythmic excitement.

+ -
show more show less