Back to previous
Back to previous

Longmont Symphony Orchestra: Shostakovich No. 5


View Map

As you anxiously await the performance of “Shostakovich Symphony No. 5”, LSO will first bring you Beethoven’s “Overture to Coriolan”, depicting the Roman leader, Gaius Marcius Coriolanus’ transition from brutality to tenderness, followed by Bloch’s “Schelomo”. The voice of Schelomo is the cello which embodies the greatness, glory, and sensuality of the great King. When Shostakovich takes center stage, his fifth symphony opens with the color of glistening rivers by the strings, doom-laden fanfares from brass and percussion, followed by the largo movement of lamenting, and finally the furious explosion of brass and timpani in the final movement—with flurries of strings and woodwinds as it rushes to a thundering finale. A must see and hear!

+ -
show more show less